Event Calendar // Summit of Sustainability Awards

Summit of Sustainability Awards

7:30 AM - 9:00 AM
Quaker Station
135 S. Broadway
Akron, OH 44325

In 2012, the Greater Akron Chamber along with the City of Akron, County of Summit, Keep Akron Beautiful and ReWorks created the Summit of Sustainability Awards.  The goal of the Summit of Sustainability Awards was to recognize local organizations that have successfully implemented sustainability practices. 

This year, the Summit of Sustainability Award aims to recognize individuals who are Sustainability Changemakers, or those persons who have created value for their Summit County organization, and community, through their ongoing sustainability efforts. Recipients were nominated by their peers, supervisors, and sustainability experts in Summit County. 

The 2015 individual Sustainability Changemakers are:
  • John Farber, Old Trail School
  • Nicole Koharik, GOJO Industries, Inc.
  • Amy Longenbach, Bridgestone Americas
  • Tom Marting, GOJO Industries, Inc.
  • Laura McElrath, Akron Marathon
  • Rick Merolla, City of Akron
  • Phillip Nabors, Mustard Seed Market & Café
  • Doug Piekarz, Akron Zoological Park
  • Danette Rushboldt, Summit Metro Parks
  • George Schneider, Bridgestone Americas
  • Karen Starr, Hazel Tree Interiors
  • Megan Weidner, Diebold, Inc.

The 2015 group Sustainability Changemakers are:
  • Akron Zoo Green Team
  • GAINS- Greater Akron Innovation Network for Sustainability
  • Dale Banas, Ron Cox & Paul Emery of “Energizing Our Communities”, Dominion East Ohio

The annual Summit of Sustainability Awards breakfast will be held Thursday, October 22 at 7:30 a.m. at The University of Akron’s Quaker Station. Keynote speaker to be announced soon!

The celebration is open to the public. Registration is $20 for individuals and corporate tables with seats of eight are $250.

The Summit of Sustainability would like to thank our FOUNDING PARTNERS and SPONSORS.

City of Akron, County of Summit, Greater Akron Chamber, ReWorks, Keep Akron Beautiful.

Sustainable Champions – Akron METRO RTA, Akron Zoo, Signet Jewelers

Conservation Leaders – Dominion Foundation, FirstEnergy Foundation, River Valley Paper Company, The University of Akron, Waste Management

Resource Guardians – Affinity Consultants, Bridgestone Americas, Old Trail School

Media Sponsors – Lockett Media, Smart Business Network, Inc., 91.3 The Summit
Summit of Sustainability Awards